Ask The Rabbi

If You Knew Sushi...

The Color of HeavenArtscroll
Topic: Kosher Sushi

Chuped wrote

My friend insists that sushi made from kosher fish, although raw, is kosher, and that there is a glatt kosher restaurant in New York that serves sushi. I responded that sushi cannot be kosher because the fish in its raw state contains "blood." I agree, of course, that if the fish is properly prepared and cooked that the fish would then be permissible to eat. Am I correct?


Dear Chuped,

Actually, your friend is correct. Jews have been eating raw fish ever since herring was invented. Although the Torah forbids animal and fowl blood, kosher fish are permitted without removing their blood.

Sources:

  • Shulchan Aruch, Yoreh Deah 13:1

 
Enter Search Phrase:    
Browse By Keyword: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z


Ohr Somayach International is a 501c3 not-for-profit corporation (letter on file) and your donation is tax deductable.